China Development Research Foundation   |   中文   |   Register
Time:March 18-20, 2017
Beijing Diaoyutai State Guesthouse
Sponsor:Development Research Center of the State Council
Organiser:China Development Research Foundation
CDF WeChat
CDRF Weibo
Chinese Delegates International Delegates Participating Organisations

Back International Delegates List>

Sir Christopher Pissarides

Professor, London School of Economics & Political Science (LSE); 2010 Nobel Laureate in Economics Scholars

Sir Christopher Pissarides is the Regius Professor of Economics at the London School of Economics (LSE) and professor-at-large at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. He was educated at the University of Essex and LSE and he spent the bulk of his career at the LSE. He had long visits in the Universities of Harvard, Princeton and California at Berkeley.

Sir Christopher specialises in the economics of labour markets, monetary and fiscal policy, economic growth and structural change. He has written extensively in professional journals, magazines and the press and his book Equilibrium Unemployment Theory is an influential reference in the economics of unemployment that has been translated into many languages. He is frequently quoted in the press on issues concerning European labour markets, the problems of the euro area and Greece in particular and the future of European integration.

He was jointly awarded the 2010 Nobel Prize in Economics for his work on markets with frictions. He holds many other awards, including the IZA Prize in Labor Economics (2005), the Grand Cross of the Republic of Cyprus (2011) and the Kiel Institute Global Economy Prize (2015). He was knighted by Queen Elizabeth II in 2013. In 2011 he was elected honorary citizen of his birthplace Nicosia.

He is an elected Fellow of the British Academy, the Academy of Athens, the Academia Europaea and several other learned societies, and he is a Lifetime Honorary Member of the American Economic Association. He has been honoured by several universities worldwide with doctorates or professorships. In 2011 he served as the President of the European Economic Association.